Freya's Edina Longline Padded Bra in Graphite

Freya's Edina Longline Padded Bra in Graphite

Hello Swimwear and Lingerie lovers.

Pardon my typing today, I’m going cold-turkey on the chocolate and candies over here and it’s going… well (?)

Must eat something with red dye # 12... NOW!

Must eat something with red dye # 12... NOW!

Nah, I’m just kidding. I’m fine.

Nothing to worry about over here. I just had a little epiphany yesterday evening and realized that I really don’t like what the candy does to me. I become a whole other person.

Me WANT CANDY! AHHHHHHHHHHHRGHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Me WANT CANDY! AHHHHHHHHHHHRGHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Nooooo, not that person, but it’s a pretty close approximation!

{sadly, our hair is even pretty similar…although I have a little less crazy around the eyes perhaps}

If we tiptoe quietly back to the point of this post, maybe we won't set off the chocoholic...

If we tiptoe quietly back to the point of this post, maybe we won't set off the chocoholic...

Anyway, today is Totally Retro Tuesday and I have a lovely little vintage lingerie ad for your reading pleasure.

It’s in French and if you’re not a fellow survivor of French Immersion, don’t worry, you aren’t missing anything. The words aren’t really the important thing here.

This type of ad always makes me want to go shopping. I have been coveting a longline bra as long as I can remember. It could be a by-product of having Madonna‘s Like a Virgin phase, indelibly burned on my innnocent young brain.

Sure... SHE can find a size that fits... C'mon lingerie companies, hook a sister up!

Sure... SHE can find a size that fits... C'mon lingerie companies, hook a sister up!

I love the way they look and I think I love the way they feel.

There’s just something so very beautiful about them and the way they shape women’s bodies. Not to mention the way they shape our body language… Vogue

{whispering it in a fake echo voice…vogue, vogue, vogue, vogue….}

{although, without ever actually having one in my real size, it’s obviously difficult to say that with absolute certainty}

This might just be a case of coveting something that I can’t have. I can’t have fish or seafood either and I’m told they’re wonderful, but I really wouldn’t know.

{frankly it all looks like wet cockroaches that eat the poop of things swimming above them to me… although I could get behind the whole garlic butter dip!}

Beware the lobster bra...ooooh creepy and a bit nippy by the looks of it.

Beware the lobster bra...ooooh creepy and a bit nippy by the looks of it.

What if I could eat them and they were just blah and fishy-ish? I really hope that isn’t the case with the illusive longline bra. I really, really want one.

{Not to eat, to wear… just thought I had better clear that up… seemed a little ambiguous on the second read through!}

You better believe it! The lingerie-force is strong with this one! Yay capitalism!

You better believe it! The lingerie-force is strong with this one! Yay capitalism!

Freya had one out last season the nieve and it was so very stunning and perfect and perfectly out of my reach due to their willingness to only make it up to a 36 not a 38.

Freya Nieve Longline Bra, WANT

Freya Nieve Longline Bra, WANT

sigh…

Of all the ones I have tried on, some, supposedly, even in my size, I have yet to find one that fits comfortably.

Yet another Freya longline bra I can't have... sniff, sniff...

Yet another Freya longline bra I can't have... sniff, sniff...

Either they are too small in the band, or the bottom portion is longer than my actual ribcage and ends up floating away from my tummy and waist in a medieval armour type of look.

Freya Longline Bra in Pink Floral Print

Freya Longline Bra in Pink Floral Print

Have you had this kind of an issue?

Have you had any success with longlines? Is there are a brand that has a nice design that works with short waisted people?

Tell me please and I'll love you more than chocolate, but not more than longline bras...'cause that's just crazy-talk!

Tell me please and I'll love you more than chocolate, but not more than longline bras...'cause that's just crazy-talk!

Please leave me a comment and direct me to a longline bra that fits larger bands size {although I’m not really sure that 38 IS considered a larger band size} so I can stop whining and get shopping!

Cheers,

Maggie

