Nothing odd about this photo at all... I, for one, would totally wear a bowler hat with this combination, in public, most likely with a dress or a suit as well, but each to their own!

Nothing odd about this photo at all... I, for one, would totally wear a bowler hat with this combination, in public, most likely with a dress or a suit as well, but each to their own!

Happy Tuesday Swimwear and Lingerie Friends!

For today’s Totally Retro Tuesday post, we have a lovely vintage advertisement from those stockings wizards, Hanes!

What do we all think of this?

I don’t usually play all my cards at once, but I for one, LOVE THIS!

Me Likee, me likee a lot!

Me Likee, me likee a lot!

It’s an advertisement about stockings. The featured image is a pair of women’s legs.

Nooooooo, really?

Nooooooo, really?

Shocking!

They are selling seamless stockings and the tag line says exactly that and even gives a facile explanation of why we might like them.

No! No more... she can't take it!

No! No more... she can't take it!

Double shocking!

There are some who would be opposed to the ad due to the compartmentalization of a woman’s body… They prefer that a woman always be shown as a whole, never bits and pieces and body parts. Which is an argument I definitely get. I do. Just not in this case.

I'm just kidding. No one's anti EVERYTHING... side eyes

I'm just kidding. No one's anti EVERYTHING...side eyes

If they were selling a product unrelated to the body part being featured THEN I would say that it was a rotten example of the way in which women are always seen as an accumulation of parts that are meant to be used for any reason whatsoever.

But, you see, they’re selling a product for the legs. They’re featuring the legs. Why would I need to see the woman’s hair colour to know if the stockings look good on her legs?

That’s all.

Are you offended by this type of advertising? Feel free to disagree with me, I prefer it actually 🙂

Cheers,

Maggie

