Let's all dance and frolic about the Maypole even though it's only March!

Let's all dance and frolic about the Maypole even though it's only March!

Happy Tuesday my dearest darling Swimwear and Lingerie lovelies!

Spring is totally in the air and I couldn’t be happier. The weather is warm, my curly hair is big and wind blown and my wooley stockings are overly sweatey. Life is pretty darn sweet!

Mirthful Yaks are the best. Bet you never would have believed I could work Yaks into a lingerie and swimwear blog, huh?

Mirthful Yaks are the best. Bet you never would have believed I could work Yaks into a lingerie and swimwear blog, huh?

Why am I so pleased if I’m looking like an overheated Yak with a fright wig?

Because, I can always plop a hat on the scary-hair and strip off the sweaty stockings {and blind the world with my lily-white legs}, but I can’t make the weather warm… so there you have it, silver lining, bright side and all that crap!

So, don’t judge when you see me skipping down the sidewalk and whistling.

I’m just happy to be out of hibernation without going all Jack Nicholson-Shining-ish on anybody.

Hibernation Frolic-ing: How the heck do they keep their hair so nice though?

Hibernation Frolic-ing: How the heck do they keep their hair so nice though?

…and we’re back on track.

So today’s Totally Retro Tuesday post is care of the lovely folks at Luxite: Makers of holeproof underthings and sleepwear. {snerk}

Darn it! I was trying to hold that in. Sorry folks, that was a little unprofessional of me {unlike the Yak segue}, I was trying to get through the initial introduction before I gave into the need to breathe and chortle.

But, in all fairness that is a DOOZY of an advertising tag line now isn’t it? Okay, I’m going to let you check out this lovely little vintage lingerie ad on your own time, and then we can speak about like adults.

{adults that know the shame and horror of holey underthings and sleepweear… bwa haa haa haa}

Right, there you have it! Luxite: Amazeballs underthings that resist holey-ness.

Were holes really that huge an issue back then?

Holey Swimwear Batman!

Holey Swimwear Batman!

Were they not concerned about dirt, strains, shrinkage, flammability, choking hazards, synthetic fiber allergies, breatheability of textiles, color matching trendy bedroom furniture, having the days of the week printed on them for day planning or cross-selling by partnering with a completely unrelated product to bolster sales and steal the other product’s customer base?

It may become the colour of dirt, but it won't have ANY holes!

It may become the colour of dirt, but it won't have ANY holes!

There’s lots of things to promote about “underthings” why just their resistance to holes?

Genius marketing idea, because clearly they can’t sell us based on the lovely designs. I’ve seen tarps draped over steaming piles of manure that were prettier than these nighties and sleep-type-thingies. {cringe, they totally look like the kind of thing I would expect Edith Bunker to wear}

Edith Bunker in lingerie = insert shudder here

Edith Bunker in lingerie = insert shudder here

I know it’s supposed to sound like it’s the coolest and newest technology and all that but when I hear Luxite, it translates directly into Ludite.

Which would be rather contrary to the idea they’re trying to put out there.

I really don’t have anything against this advertisment at all. Seriously, it’s just the name of the brand that keeps me giggling. {like a yak}

Ah well, what can you do with undies like that, other than push the fact that they will survive the nuclear holocaust?

Cheers,

Maggie

