Romeo is swinging on by his lady love!

Romeo is swinging on by his lady love!

Hello Swimwear and Lingerie lovers.

Did we all have a fabulous Lingerie Monday?

My pasties stayed on and gave me plenty of reasons to crack up through out the day. Not the least of which was listening to the lovely elderly lady in the line behind me discussing how she’s had a devil of a time finding some good old traditional pasties like her “ol’ Ma used to make…” {don’t worry, I totally hid the giggles with a fake coughing fit…}

For today’s Totally Retro Tuesday, we have a lovely lingerie commercial about Triumph’s Maxi Mizer bra. It takes the mickey out of Romeo and Juliet and should be good for a few convos.

Triumph Maxi Mizer Bra Ad Romeo and Juliet

Okay, so you get it right?

She can’t find her Romeo because her cleavage is so immensely HUGE that she can’t see past it…sigh…

William is shocked, I tell you, SHOCKED!

William is shocked, I tell you, SHOCKED!

{Important disclaimer. I specialized in Shakespearean literature in my English Degree. STOP LAUGHING! It could have been a useful pursuit… I could have used all of that highly specialized knowledge to get a job as a…would someone shut up those damn crickets already? Any hoo, I tend to be a little bit sensitive about people messing around with Willy’s stuff}

Baz can do no wrong!

Baz can do no wrong!

Right, so what do we all think about this commercial? From a cleavage point of view, I’m sure they are lovely bras and the cleavage inducing padding and design is truly amazing, however, I’m not sure about the safety of a bra that completely takes away your ability to see down in front of you.

{never mind that you could totally miss out on a lethal love affair a la Romeo and Juliet, but how do you plan on assuring that your shoes are laced up properly, let alone matched? It could lead to a whole host of problems!}

Kinda crazy huh? Her NAME'S Julliette AND she's wearing mismatched shoes BUT she has no cleavage to excuse the shoes

Kinda crazy huh? Her NAME'S Julliette AND she's wearing mismatched shoes BUT she has no cleavage to excuse the shoes

So, what’s the idea here? She wants the cleavage to attract a mate {just a stereotypical assumption… she may just want to be able to catch all the crumbs on her shelf ‘O boobs} and yet, she cannot see the potential mate the boobs have attracted… they could just call the bra the “Catch 22“!

It's a great book, I totally recommend it. But you can also watch the movie :)

It's a great book, I totally recommend it. But you can also watch the movie 🙂

Why is advertising aimed at women so weird? Yes, this one is fairly tame and worth a giggle, but the messages are contradictory. I think we ought to send a message to marketing folk that we demand a better attempt at capitalistic mind control, after all, they are trying to get us to spend our good, hard earned money on their stuff, the least they could do is come up with some intelligent advertising!

yah, never mind, I give up.

yah, never mind, I give up.

Cheers,

Maggie

