Happy Tuesday Swimwear and Lingerie Fans.

Are we all ready for Totally Retro Tuesday? I think it’s a good one this week, mostly because with my current head cold, I keep making the actual “snerk” sound every time I see the ad!

Take a look yourself and tell me if you don’t do it too!

Emo Vintage Lingerie Ad

Right, so obviously I love this ad because of the EMO reference.

OMG! Who knew that Emo was around waaay back then? Who knew there was even a “Vintage Emo”? How exciting an Anthropological finding is this? I know right! I could totally win a Nobel Prize for this discovery! Can’t you just see me up there accepting this massive prize for the newest and best discoveries in lingerie this year?

Nobel Prize in Lingerie

Nobel Prize in Lingerie

Yah, that might be taking it a wee bit far.

So, emo and lingerie!

Whaaaat? What’dya mean you have no idea what emo is? Good gravy people, you need to unplug now and then, look around, interact, get with the program and all that crap! Sheesh.

Anyhoo, here’s a quick primer on all things emo for you –> Click here. {Please note that before anyone gets their panties in a bunch over my exploration of the emo-ness of this lingerie ad, I am most definitely not anti-emo. I’m rather smitten with the punk/goth/emo branch of music and think the style is quite cute! Androgeny is one of my favourite looks! So please don’t assume that I’m being derisive, as I’m most certainly not.}

Up to speed now? Good, let’s take a look at how emo this vintage lingerie ad really is!

Well, we can’t see her/his face, so we don’t know if this is an emo gal or guy, but the dramatic head tilt and raised arms are very symbolic of complete submission to an emotional outsurge.

The clothes don’t really fit today’s definition of emo though. I suppose things were a little bit different back then. Clothing and things were more tightly controlled by societal expectations and norms. Which would make the toplessness a true act of rebellion, as is the wearing of the dark pantyhose, while frolicking about with the regular light or “nude” coloured shades.

{Don’t even get me started on the whole “nude” coloured thing. Grrrr}

I'm not really sure why this is labelled as an emo cartoon... I get the whole dark and dry sense of humour, but that isn't only reserved for the emo genre of folks!

I'm not really sure why this is labelled as an emo cartoon... I get the whole dark and dry sense of humour, but that isn't only reserved for the emo genre of folks!

So, I guess, there are some emo elements at play here. Which is kind of interesting isn’t it? Subversion is in the eye of the beholder and I’m sure we could find plenty of signifiers if we really wanted to… but really, this is just a vintage lingerie ad for stockings from a bygone era and we’re applying our contemporary labels and ideas to it…

{but ya gotta admit… it’s kinda fun isn’t it?}

Cheers,

Maggie

