Ophelia Fancy Nipple Pasties

Ophelia Fancy Nipple Pasties

Happy Monday darling Swimwear and Lingerie Fanatics!

How are we all doing today? Good? Great? Hopefully, you had such a wonderful weekend that you’re all ready for the workweek and can greet today with a grin and not a grimace.

Speaking of grimace, it’s been over a week since I last had fast food! How proud am I? Definitely on the right road to healthier, happier year.

Part of my “Live Healthier This Year” goal is to embrace that thing called housekeeping… Apparently, there’s this theory that not living in a pigpen could lead to less stress and illness. Personally, I think it would be kinda cruel to kick all these little dust bunnies out into the cold, hard world.

In a perfect world, this is all it would take, and beautiful flowers wouldn't make me sneeze and get all snotty!

In a perfect world, this is all it would take, and beautiful flowers wouldn't make me sneeze and get all snotty!

I’m told normal people don’t have the same reaction to it that I do. Apparently there are even those sicko types that really, really enjoy it!

I'm thinking she might be a little high on all the cleaning chemicals... note the glassy look in her eyes!

I'm thinking she might be a little high on all the cleaning chemicals... note the glassy look in her eyes!

Sadly, I don’t have that reaction. This is how I usually look after 5 minutes.

Man, this sucks. I really wish I could procrastinate by blogging more. Maybe I'll just go online for cleaning tips and tricks... and to look for more lingerie...

Man, this sucks. I really wish I could procrastinate by blogging more. Maybe I'll just go online for cleaning tips and tricks... and to look for more lingerie...

Either way, I needed to clean this weekend and I thought I would try something a little bit different to see if I could snap out of my usual rut of hating cleaning. So, naturally it would have to involve lingerie in some way, shape or form right? Right!

I grabbed my little collection of nipple pasties and decided to wear them, while cleaning in order to test out which types of adhesives would really hold out for a marathon of activities.

Flash Tape

Flash Tape

I was testing out eyelash glue, double-sided flash tape and spirit gum with several different pairs and working up quite a sweat too! {my house was due for a serious scrub down, can you tell?}

I cracked up quite often, whenever I caught a glance of the pastie’s outline under my shirt and realized that this could very well be the strangest thing I had done in quite awhile. It felt good to get back to my strange ways. Certainly helped to pass the time a bit more amusingly!

Yah, I'm not quite as fancy as Dita, but I feel as fancy when I wear them, so that's all that really matters!

Yah, I'm not quite as fancy as Dita, but I feel as fancy when I wear them, so that's all that really matters!

The first pair of pasties I decided to use for my little experiment were the lovely ones, by Holloway Smith Noir, that I won in a Twitter contest from the wonderful folks over at Saumarez Lingerie. I’ve blogged about winning these lovely pasties before, but I’ve never talked about wearing them. Removing Nipple Pasties is a completely different post!

Le Coeur Noir Pasties

Le Coeur Noir Pasties

Aren’t they lovely? The heart shape is so cute and the bow is very understated and elegant. The leather underside is the perfect material because it feels comfy against the skin, adheres well to whichever sticky stuff you choose to attach your pastie with and best of all, it’s upcycled, so you can get down with your ethical choice of lingerie!

I tried out the double sided fashion tape first. It was easy enough to apply and certainly didn’t take much, unless you’re a bit of a goof like me and initially formed the typical tape loop as though I were attaching a bow to a present. Of course I realized my mistake after I did that, so I tried to unattach the ends from one another only to completely join all sides and create a lovely little pile of jumbled up tape… sigh.

So, once I got my act together and had a single layer of double sided tape between my skin and the pastie, I did some laundry, scrubbed some toilets, changed the bed sheets and prepared to scrub down the shower. Then I noticed that my leftside pastie had abandoned ship at some point.

I may not have looked this diligent and dignified, but I certainly raised the bar on my usual, holey track pants and stained t-shirt cleaning attire!

I may not have looked this diligent and dignified, but I certainly raised the bar on my usual, holey track pants and stained t-shirt cleaning attire!

Going back over my cleaning tracks, I finally located it, stuck to the back of my right thigh… I assume it fell off, out of the t-shirt and then I sat on it… either way, not a good day for double sided tape and I had to mess up my nicely made bed searching for the darn thing.

Cleaning is bad enough, but now I feel like I'm trapped in cleaning Groundhog day!

Cleaning is bad enough, but now I feel like I'm trapped in cleaning Groundhog day!

Next up, Spirit Gum. It sounds kinda strange and is definitely a little bit fiddily. For one thing, I can’t use it with my lovely leather backed pasties because the leather is porous and would just absorb all of the spirit gum.

So, I’m using some fun pasties I bought at a Fair. They have a neato laminated kind of backing that works really nicely with the spirit gum. They look somewhat like this, but aren’t as beautiful. The one’s pictured below are from Gothfox

Gothfox Couture Obsession Pink Rhinestone Pasties

Gothfox Couture Obsession Pink Rhinestone Pasties

Just like with eyelash glue, there’s a bit of a trick to using Spirit Gum, so I found this handy dandy, little video to help you avoid some of the pit falls I’ve made in the past.

Once I had them applied, I set to work, on the next batch of laundry, sorting, folding and getting the machines all loaded up with their next loads. {Pretty glamorous life I lead huh? Jealous much?} I tidied up the kitchen, loaded up the dishwasher and turned it on, and began tidying up all my little clutter piles, so I could actually push a vacuum around.

And if we did have a maid, I would probably prefer she not wear nipple pasties while cleaning, just from a worker safety point of view, wouldn't want the tassels to get sucked into the vacuum or anything...

And if we did have a maid, I would probably prefer she not wear nipple pasties while cleaning, just from a worker safety point of view, wouldn't want the tassels to get sucked into the vacuum or anything...

The spirit gum held beautifully and there were no inadvertent slips of the nipple pasties or any trouble. I did find the experience a bit uncomfortable while the gum was drying and getting tacky… but that may just have been because I opened the window to air out the cleaning fumes and couldn’t take my hands away until the gum set, so my keester was freezing, as were my jubilees.

Moral of the story? Plan ahead folks.

Last but not least, I used my Agent Provacateur Pasties with some eyelash glue.

Agent Provocateur Tassled Pasties

Agent Provocateur Tassled Pasties

Fabulous aren’t they? Worth every penny too! Now, in the interests of full disclosure I should probably point out that eyelash glue is my favourite adhesive. I like the way it clings, cleans up so easily and never feels tight or as though it were pulling. So, obviously the big winner is this type of adhesive and I put it through its paces by vacuuming all the carpets in the house, including the stairs as well as dusting and doing quite a bit of dancing too!

After it was all said and done, I still had two lovely pasties, still attached and a nice cleanish house!

I would say the experiment provided some interesting results:

1. I do things on autopilot and really need to pay attention or I’m going to end up wasting a lot of expensive double sided tape.
2. Spirit Gum is waaaay too fun to play with and I was kinda tempted to stick stuff on my darling husband while he slept that night.
3. Eyelash glue is just as fun as spirit gum and probably won’t pull as much of his hair out when it inevitably gets smooshed into his chest!
4. I’m probably not mature enough to be trusted with adhesives around innocent sleeping people.
5. This certainly made the day of cleaning go by a whole heck of a lot faster than usual and I would highly recommend every one give it a go! At the very least, you can practice your tassel twirling while you dust and get some good use out of your lingerie accessories!

Gothfox Peacock Nipple Pasties

Gothfox Peacock Nipple Pasties

Well, that’s all from here lovelies! Have yourselves a great day and the next time you have some annoying drudgery to do… try a little pastie fun! It could change your perspective!

Cheers,

Maggie

