I'm not sure which is more amazing, Marilyn or that negligee/dress?

I'm not sure which is more amazing, Marilyn or that negligee/dress?

Happy Tuesday Swimwear and Lingerie friends.

We are frigidly cold here in Ontario, Canada, and I, for one, could you use some warming up. So, like any good vintage-lingerie-loving-gal, I tend to turn to vintage movies for a little distraction from the snow that needs shoveling at the end of my driveway. {Besides, the annoying plow will just stack it up again in no time, bigger and better. I might do just as well to leave it and practice ramping it out of the driveway! I could get some sweet air if I don’t bottom out and turn the car into a teeter totter, rocking on the frame}

For today’s Totally Retro Tuesday post, we have the always delectable Marilyn Monroe singing “I Want To Be Loved By You” from the fabulous movie Some Like It Hot.

She sings it perfectly, with just enough bounce and wiggle to show off that dress. In fact that dress ought to be a Super Star all in its own right… it nails the performance beautifully.

Right, let’s get right to that dress. Can you believe it was created with nude coloured, opaque mesh and strategically placed sequins? Considering the era this was produced in, I’m somewhat shocked that the costume designer was able to get away with it!

Then again, she also wore this... so the film was definitely channeling a burlesque-feel for the costumes!

Then again, she also wore this... so the film was definitely channeling a burlesque-feel for the costumes!

“Some Like It Hot” may be the film’s title, but that dress certainly wasn’t insulating anyone from the cold, nor would you be able to hide a nippular response to temperature changes {round these parts we can giggle and measure the temperature by how many stacked Smarties (M&Ms for the American readers) people seem to be smuggling in their bras}, which brings me to my Retro Tuesday point…{can you believe, I actually have a point? Amazeballs, I know! This may be the first sign of the advent of the Zombie Apocalypse}

Marilyn had a figure that just wouldn’t quit, but if we look at several shots in the film, it’s fairly obvious that this dress prevented her from wearing the typical, socially prescribed, support for her large bust.

Marilyn Monroe in Some Like It Hot: Sans support!

Marilyn Monroe in Some Like It Hot: Sans support!

…and you know what, that’s pretty amazing in my books. During an era, where women’s chests were sculpted into unnatural shapes and they were admonished not to leave the house without every inch of their being constrained by support/shaping garments, here we have an example of a natural breast shape and isn’t it refreshing?

This all came about, because I was looking for a good shot of her in that lingerie-esque dress and I saw her leaning over in the picture above, and thought “Wow, isn’t that unusual, here’s one of the greatest sex symbols ever, in the middle of a hot and steamy scene and her body is behaving naturally.How did that happen?

Then I started thinking, how sad it was that I was so impressed that her moment of dangling got past the censors? More importantly, that it hasn’t been profiled as {fake} proof that Marilyn was this size or that size and all the other ridiculous crap that people will say about a woman’s appearance, etc.?

What does it say that the natural shape of a breast is more surprising than a cosmetically enhanced or costuming enhanced shape?

I think it says, that we have quite a long way to go to claim ownership over natural representations of beauty in our media and society.

I know I’m probably just over thinking all of this, {I tend to do that at times} but I really am struck dumb {never mind the giggling… it’s a figure of speech, we all know that I rarely lose the gift the gab for more than a minute!} that a very brief moment in a film, had more of an affect on me than the whole ridiculous gender-bending story line.

Does it make you stop and think too? Or am I just weird? {seriously, you can let a few slide by… you don’t need to titter at every little self-deprecation}

Cheers,

Maggie

Marilyn

