Lauren Bacall and Humphrey Bogart

Lauren Bacall and Humphrey Bogart

Hello lovely Swimwear and Lingerie types!

It’s Totally Retro Tuesday and in honour of the upcoming holidays and the manically frenzied shoppers I see daily, I have decided that we will look at a lovely little “retro” video of how not to shop for lingerie, courtesy of Clark Griswold. Remember, no one likes an uncouth shopper! Thank goodness for online sales these days right?

Bet ya can't name the movie this clip is from!!!!

Bet ya can't name the movie this clip is from!!!!

The lovely lady at the counter {and by lovely, I do mean the butterface at the counter} is ridiculously tolerant of his openly lecherous shopping style. Witness the many things that you should definitely never say to a lingerie store employee!

What she should have done to him after the first nipple/breast pun!

What she should have done to him after the first nipple/breast pun!

{What do you mean, “What’s butterface supposed to mean? Shhhh, the movie’s starting, I’ll tell you after. Stop Bogarting all the popcorn!}

I gotta tell you, I was never a fan of the skimpy, high-waisted underwear from the late eighties/ early nineties. Frankly, they were not a friend to the broad hipped gal… tended to just make me look that much more hippy. I rejoiced when lowriders came back into style!

Wasn’t that just about the most uncomfortable you’ve ever felt in your whole darn life? No one does it better than Chevy Chase!

Chevy Chase at his best!

Chevy Chase at his best!

I would highly suggest you have your friends and family members view this as a public service type of educational video. After all, shopping during the holidays is bad enough, you throw in this kind of inappropriateness and WHAM! Restraining order for Christmas.

Cheers,

Maggie

Oh right, sorry, I almost forgot about your question. Butterface? Seriously? Were you never a kid? Basically you would say someone is a butterface, if they have a slamming body but a ‘meh face’= everything’s great butt-er-face…. cruel I know…I feel really bad now. In fairness, she has was in a major movie that is watched billions of times every winter and I… well, I talk to myself on the internet…and now I’m sad… See kids, being a meaney just doesn’t pay off…I’m gonna go and feel bad now.

Humphrey Bogart

Humphrey Bogart

…huh? Bogarting? Seriously? C’mon people… I can’t be the only one with knowledge of this fine street vernacular… fine, well you see Humphrey Bogart had these really big, moist lips and people wouldn’t want to share a drink or cigarette with him because he would get it all soppy… hence Bogarting. Some people think it means to keep something all to yourself and not share, but really it has to do with moisture levels. If you’re Bogarting the popcorn your stuffing so much in that half is falling out pre-moistened… kinda gross…

