Happy Monday Swimwear and Lingerie buddies.

Damaris Fall 2010 Lingerie

Today’s Must Have Monday topic is: Confusion!

Yup, it’s Monday, not too hard to be confused for any one, but this confusion is certainly lingerie related. You see, I was watching the following lingerie video “Packing Heat” Produced by Damaris Lingerie and while I completely adore their lingerie… soooooo pretty! I just couldn’t understand why, with the world the way it is these days, that they needed to have guns.

Corset Knickers, sooooo cute!

Corset Knickers, sooooo cute!

Not sure what I’m talking about? Here, watch it yourself and then we can talk.

Okay, all up to speed now?

I love the flying powder paint, it’s a really cool effect and let’s face it, with lingerie that stunning, they really didn’t need to add in anymore of a ‘Wow’ factor, now did they?

Wow, that assassin is really skilled in camouflage...we were all so busy staring at her butt, we didn't even really notice the gun!

Wow, that assassin is really skilled in camouflage...we were all so busy staring at her butt, we didn't even really notice the gun!

Basically, they’ve just decided to rip off Tarantino and go for pure shock value with the whole suspenseful Film Noir style and a healthy does of sex-ploitation too!

Grindhouse/ Planet Terror Poster

Grindhouse/ Planet Terror Poster

Have we come to this as a society? Where only showing barbarity along with feminine lingerie will make it worthy of notice? Shock and awe doesn’t have to be their only marketing feature.

{then again, it did make me feature it on the blog. Damn victim of a savvy Marketing Department that knows how many English/Women’s Studies grads there are with nothing else to do but bitch about feminist ideals in a capitalistic world…sigh, foiled again}

Am I off the rails here? Do you think it’s odd that zombies and guns are hot advertising ploys for lingerie?

I’m not saying I want to see the Timotei girl flouncing through the daisies but if they wanted explosions of color and to justify throwing powdered paint around, then why didn’t they just film the commercial during Holi? Seems rather appropriate wouldn’t you agree?

I would love to hear your take on the video, so please don’t be shy! Slide on down to the comments there and leave my your thought. I promise to answer.

Cheers,

Maggie

