Hello Swimwear and Lingerie enthusiasts.

Welcome to another installment of Totally Retro Tuesday. Today’s exciting retro lingerie ad hails from the ’60’s a rip-roaring era of fun, fantasy and the ability to phase through solid matter. Who knew!

Okay, I’m about to reveal something a little sensitive. I’m a comic book nerd or more specifically a graphic novel lover! There’s this character in the Marvel Universe of comics called Kitty Pride who has the ability to “phase” through solid matter.

She’s pretty damn cool. You may recognize her from the XMEN movies, but I will always love her story lines from her Excalibur days…she had her own dragon called Lockhead.

{Yah, I’m a dork… I’m cool with that!}

Shadowcat AKA Kitty Pride

Shadowcat AKA Kitty Pride

The tag line reveals that “Plaza8 a Wild Young Under-Whimsy is Happening” and not only that, “It Should Happen To You!” Wow! I’m glad they told us that a wild, young, under-whimsy was happening ’cause frankly, I look at the ladies modelling their undies and I’m not getting a wild young under-whimsy kinda feeling from it all… nope, getting more of a creepy carni(val), serial killer kind of feel actually.

Scene from the controversial carnival/sideshow movie Freaks, 1932

Scene from the controversial carnival/sideshow movie Freaks, 1932

Bit of a resemblance between the two photos right? Think that’s what the advertisers were going for?

Nah, the 1932 film “Freaks” was still a very controversial movie, I doubt that they would want to be associated with that kind of publicity.

Hands up… who thinks the entire picture is a random flashback of the art director’s last heavy acid trip? Yah, me too.

Acid Trip by Sergeant Keroro

Acid Trip by Sergeant Keroro

The hand coming out of the wall to offer watermelon is intriguing… I guess back then if you wanted to get a party hopping, music, clothing and partying weren’t necessary, just sections of fruit randomly emerging from walls.

Yah, I have no idea what this is all about. One confusing advert at a time!

Yah, I have no idea what this is all about. One confusing advert at a time!

The overwhelming number of balloons seem to have taken the place of her right arm, she seems to be bracing herself against the opposite wall and our lovely cut-in-half friend on the phone has an “oooooh what did I just hear?” facial expression that is, quite frankly, bizarre.

Seems to me the ad is doing everything possible to distract the viewer from the incredibly boring and institutional underwear they are trying to sell. Well, mission accomplished. We should tell them how well they did…except they aren’t around anymore… huh, weird… wonder why they went out of business?

Cheers,

Maggie

PS. How come everyone is only allowed to have one hand? WTF is that all about? Is this the precursor to Calvin & Hobbes’ Disembodied Hand That Strangled People?

