Marilyn Monroe in fabulous polka dot bikini

Marilyn Monroe in fabulous polka dot bikini

Happy Monday Swimwear and Lingerie buddies!

How was the weekend? Everyone manage to get a little you time in? I’ve indulged a little too heavily over the summer and my bras weren’t fitting as well as could be hoped for so…. I WENT LINGERIE SHOPPING!!!!! Woot!

Yup, there’s always an upside….even to gaining weigh!

Gained a bit of weight this summer... inflated the girls a bit too much!

Gained a bit of weight this summer... inflated the girls a bit too much!

I went to one of my favourite little lingerie shops nearby-ish, Vicanies, and had a superb bra fitting with one of their wonderful staff.

One quick aside; to anyone who has ever felt nervous or shy about a bra fitting you should know that a well staffed, professional boutique delivers the most professional, friendly and informative service, they will take care to match their level of interaction to your specific needs and comfort level. Face your fears and get your boobies measured… the change in your appearance alone is worth it!

{Public service announcement for today is now over, please return to your regularly scheduled lingerie ogling!}

I’ll let you know what lingerie I bought another day, but today I just HAVE to tell you what I got, completely out of season, with no chance of wearing it for at least another 8-9 months!

This!

Panache Monroe Halter Tankini to die for... not literally of course, it's not like I'm going swimming with sharks or anything!

Panache Monroe Halter Tankini to die for... not literally of course, it's not like I'm going swimming with sharks or anything!

Panache Monroe Tankini Bottoms

Panache Monroe Tankini Bottoms

It’s from Panache, the Monroe Halter Tankini and I think I’m a little bit in lurve!It isn’t from the latest Panache Swimwear season so I even got it on sale… just gets better and better doesn’t it?

I know right?

Now, I’m not usually a fan of polka dots, but dab naggit, if this isn’t the cutest little thing EVER. I actually felt a bit like Minnie Mouse rather than the other famous MM (Marilyn Monroe) while wearing it and strangely enough that wasn’t a bad thing.

Kicking it Mini Mouse-style

Kicking it Mini Mouse-style

What really sold me on it was the fact that it was a halter style neckline that was COMFORTABLE for one. Halter neckline are rather slimming for broad shouldered ladies such as myself, but so often they aren’t supportive enough for boobies over a B cup. I wrote a little ranty type post on halter necklines awhile back if you recall.

This tankini features a built in bra that actually supports my bust and keeps me contained and comfortable, which is no small feat let me tell you! I love a company that sees a neglected niche and fills it so beautifully. From their website: “After the success of Panache Superbra, and gaining a reputation for “excellence in fit”, the natural progression was to extend this knowledge into the swimwear market. Similar to the Superbra range, Panache Swimwear provides core basics in a variety of simple shapes alongside fashionable designs from D-K cup.”

And let me tell you, the built in bra is nothing to sneeze at. Scratch that. I can totally sneeze in this and not knock a surfer off his board from 10 feet away! I am in awe of a halter tankini that actually fits, feels good and looks good too!

Pin up surfer gal

Pin up surfer gal

Check out your local lingerie shop and see if you can nab any last season clearouts…they’re definitely worth it!

Cheers,

Maggie

Marilyn Monroe Swimsuit Photos

Marilyn Monroe Swimsuit Photos

