Clearly SHE isn't using chub rub protection

Clearly SHE isn't using chub rub protection

Happy Monday Swimwear and Lingerie Fans!

{Told ya I was going to keep saying Happy Monday until you got used to it. After all, there isn’t anything to dread about Mondays… just means you’re one day closer to the next weekend right?}

How was your weekend? We’re nearing the end of our summer here in Ontario and I’m still test-driving shapewear and trying to find something that Goldilocks would like. Not too tight, not too loose, not too sweat-inducing and not too expensive.

goldilocks-mugshot

goldilocks-mugshot

Picky. I know.

If it sounds like an impossible list… well, it kinda is. You see, I’m not overly concerned about smoothing out my bumps and bits. My idea of comfort doesn’t include extreme compression. For more on that you can check out my Hanky Panky review. Nope, I have knock-knees and muscular thighs and this leads to what I have delicately come to call “chub rub”. Chub rub sucks and really takes all the fun out of wearing a skirt or dress.

Now don’t get me wrong. I’m not about to appear on “People of Walmart” or anything but it’s really uncomfortable and my wardrobe options would be seriously limited if I couldn’t wear skirts and dresses. They are essential clothing when you’re a professional and need to look polished and put together, yet don’t want to be a big old, ball of sweat by the time you commute to work in trousers, in your fuel efficient but non air conditioned car.

Thigh Society- anti chub rub

Thigh Society- anti chub rub

{Oh and fyi this isn’t a picture of me, although I am totally digging her dress!}

I first heard about the company Thigh Society on twitter and was super excited to find a lingerie company based out of Canada! Their homepage included the terms “chub rub” and “Thigh Society is NOT shapewear”. It’s like they were answering my wish list!!!

Thigh Society

So I quickly ordered a pair of the white bamboo in my size. Then the whole Postal Strike thing happened and I knew I would be in for a bit of a wait. However, it gave me a chance to see how amazing their customer service is. I was immediately emailed and informed of the strike and the delay. They were so proactive and offered me options and potential ways to deal with the problem and in the end, it all came out fine. I would recommend them based on their attention to detail and customer satisfaction alone!

Smiley-Face-

Smiley-Face-

By the time I received them, we were well and truly stuck in the middle of a brutal heatwave. I felt like the guy in Indiana Jones with his face melting off.

Ya, this dude... What? It was really that hot out! Seriously!

Ya, this dude... What? It was really that hot out! Seriously!

Anyhoo… I wore them to work under a skirt and spent my lunch hour running errands so that I could really put them through the paces.

thigh-society- White/ Bamboo

thigh-society- White/ Bamboo

First things first, they aren’t lying when they talk about how soft and breathable the bamboo fabric is. It wicked the sweat away from my skin very quickly and didn’t compress my flesh like a sausage stuffer. The undies/shorts just skimmed my body and kept me comfortable. Definitely a big A+ there.

The bottom portion of the leg did start to ride up near the end of the day and that was a bit irritating because I apparently lack the feminine impulse control that says; “Don’t adjust your shorties in public!” and yanked them down into place a few times. Oops. No, I wasn’t raised in a barn and I do know better… I just haven’t been able to comfortably wear a skirt in so long, I guess I’m just out of practice.

Raised in a barn

Raised in a barn

{sorry Mom}

The waist band rolled a bit too and I wonder if I were to adapt them to have a bit of stretch lace at the top and the bottoms, if I could stop that from happening. Of course, I may want to also think about getting a different size to avoid that issue as well.

All in all, I really enjoy wearing them and have actually been able to wear some of my lovely summer dresses and skirts and be quite comfortable both at work and in my stuffy car. I would certainly recommend them to anyone not looking for the smoothing and compression of shapewear, but the comfort and function of a longer legged panty.

Does any one know of any similar products I could try? It really does seem to be a niche that doesn’t have a lot of options. I would love to try out a silk or a wool blend and see how those work out, just need some suggestions.

Cheers,

Maggie

Thigh Society- Black

Thigh Society- Black

