Hedy-Lamarr

Hedy-Lamarr

Hello Swimwear and Lingerie Friends, Welcome to Fitting Tip Thursday.

Today’s post is a little bit embarrassing and it’s definitely more than a little bit humbling to reveal this fitting tip to you because it’s been learned though many, many years of repeated trys and fails.

{deep breath}

Okay.

{Please don’t judge me too harshly}

{exhales and does that weird little arm shakey, shivery thing to psych self up for this moment}

Jayne Mansfield

Jayne Mansfield

Here it is…

Buying lingerie in the wrong size {even just ONE size too small} will not fit you.

Shocking, I know.

Vivien Leigh

Vivien Leigh

What do you mean that’s obvious? Well, if it’s so obvious, why do I have three beautiful brand new bras in my drawer that won’t fit me unless I have a really serious GI flu bug or am marooned on a desert island for a few days? Huh?

Marilyn-Monroe

Marilyn-Monroe

In fact, I’ll even bet you have a few pieces of lingerie sitting around waiting for that elusive moment in time when you have dropped those pesky ten pounds.

Yah, that’s right I called you out on it.

{oh. oh hey, don’t look all sad and mopey… I’m sorry. Look, it’s okay…really…we all do it! Seriously!}

Sophia Loren

Sophia Loren

I bought mine in honour of my newly started diet. {the one I gave up on after two weeks…sigh} The bras were my reward for sticking to the diet and losing a bit of weight. Now they’re sitting in my drawer and looking at me. Mocking me, if you will. The’re gorgeous too… I really want to fit into them and they’re a good reminder of what I need to be doing…but let’s face it. They’re just taking up space and kind of depressing me too.

Rita Hayworth

Rita Hayworth

It doesn’t matter that they were on sale and that I got a ridiculously good deal on them. In fact, the deal was so good I even bought a bra that would require me to lose at least 10 pounds more than the others, in order to fit into to it… didn’t think I could be even dumber did you?

Katherine Hepburn

Katherine Hepburn

I guess, what I’m trying to say is… a sale isn’t really a good deal if you can’t use what you’re buying. After years of having to give away clothing with the tags still on {because I was afraid they would go out of style and NEVER get worn} I have FINALLY learned that hoarding beautiful clothing that I can never wear is really just the ultimate form of self-hate.

I deserve to have beautiful things in the size that I am right now. I deserve to feel gorgeous, no matter what size I am, and if the sale doesn’t have items in my size, then I would be wasting my money by buying for future-potential-me when right-here-me is…well…right here.

Mamie Van Doren

Mamie Van Doren

I think we’ve all received that annoying chain letter about lingerie. You know the one… some old guy finds a box of luxury lingerie that his wife has been saving for a rainy day or special occasion and he brings it to the funeral home for her to be buried in and warns you “don’t save it for a rainy day!” Yah… I cried a bit too…stupid, cheesey, heart-wrenching chain mail. But he’s right. Stop waiting for a “special occasion”. Make every day, or any day, a special occasion. Wear the stuff you love.

Elizabeth Taylor

Elizabeth Taylor

Case-in-point. ME. Buy stuff in your size. Wear it. Don’t wait for that ‘mythical’ day when everything will magically be better. Make today better and make it better with lingerie. After all, when your undies are pretty the world just seems like a nicer place!

So there you have it. Today’s fitting tip? Buy it in the right size. Wear it. Live your life now. Don’t wait.

Oh…and wear sunscreen. Baz Luhrmann said so… dude knows what he’s talking about!

Cheers,

Maggie

Betty_Grable

Betty_Grable

