Holly Willoughby Models Pretty Polly Bra

Holly Willoughby Models Pretty Polly Bra

Hello Swimwear and Lingerie friends and Happy Fitting Tip Thursday.

So…what did you think of yesterday’s Pretty Polly Bras video? I need to ask because NO ONE BOTHERED TO CHIME IN WITH THEIR OPINION.

{Oops, sorry about the yelling… I haven’t had a lot of sleep lately and I was really hoping to hear from some of you as to what you really thought about the ad. Sheesh… clearly feeling a little bit emotional, gonna go take a little time out, eat some chocolate and refresh my ‘tude}

Alrightey, I’m back. We’ll just put that down to low blood sugar, shall we? Well, thanks to the chocolate it’s spiking now, so let’s ride that puppy!!!! Hmm, may have over done the chocolatey remedy…

You see, the ad leaves me annoyed and faintly offended and I haven’t been able to put my finger on it. I hate not knowing why, so I was rather hoping to hear from some of you both good and bad.

Say there’s an idea! I’ll list some of the pros and cons of the ad and see if that helps me pinpoint the issue.

PRO

1. Lots of really beautiful women, wearing very little except for rather appealing lingerie…nothing bad about that, am I right?

Pretty Polly Bras

Pretty Polly Bras

2. Strange 12 Monkeys kind of vibe going on with the whole mad science theme. I love me some Terry Gilliam so that’s always welcome.

12 Monkeys

12 Monkeys

3. The bras really are rather pretty (though not in a parrot-ish ‘Polly’ or “pollyana” kind of way)

Pretty Polly Yellow Bra

Pretty Polly Yellow Bra

CONS

1. All the OOOOH-ing. I find it really irritating. I love wearing lingerie and a properly fit bra is truly a little slice of heaven, but I’m not acting like Barbarella trapped in Durand-Durand’s “Excessive Machine” (AKA the Orgasmatron).

Barbarella

Barbarella

2. The Buffoonery of all the men (and there are only male scientists….grrr) in the ad. Not to mention, they all seem to be shot in a somewhat voyeuristic and slightly creepy manner.

Pretty Polly Scientist

Pretty Polly Scientist

3. The Fact that the women are given lines such as “Oooh”, “don’t squeeze them…lift them”, “It isn’t a sexual thing, it’s a natural thing”, “I’m a sex Goddess”, “There begins to be a warm feeling”, “The whole area begins to feel tingley and “Is this made of microfiber?” that seem to exude dumb, over-sexed, innuendo dropping dolt. Then a fella tells us “You’re a woman. Be One”. WOW, well thank you sir, sheesh, I clearly wasn’t a woman before, but now that I am all tingley, warm and sexed up, I can definitely BE a woman now! {sarcasm alert}

Pretty Polly Don't Squeeze

Pretty Polly Don't Squeeze

Right…so they seem fairly even, except that the I feel more strongly about the cons than I do about the Pros. I ‘get’ that they are marketing a feeling. The ideal of a highly sexual-ized, extremely fit, fashionable and beautiful woman. That the gags and double-entendre are eye-catching and memorable, but are they marketing to women or to people who enjoy looking at women?

I’m only asking because I didn’t wake up this morning thinking, “Gee, I wish my bra could help dumb down my thought processes thereby making me more appealing”. Now, this could just be all the English and Women’s Studies classes I was silly enough to take but I have to wear a bra. Without it, I would be kicking these puppies around with my knees. I need a bra that will be comfortable and relieve some of the back and shoulder pain that sometimes comes along with being large busted.

Pretty Polly Wind Tunnel Test

Pretty Polly Wind Tunnel Test

I don’t need to know that it was jokingly tested in a wind tunnel. I don’t need to watch women squishing their cleavage for cheap laughs or seeing the scientific community mocked. I need to know that the brand has paid attention to the newest findings on form, function and materials and on proper posture needs and ill-health, side-effects that can come from improperly fit and constructed bras

Pretty Polly Bra

Pretty Polly Bra

I need to know that it doesn’t just cater to fashionable trends. That the company listens to its customers and is actively marketing to the people that will be buying their products, not the 13 year old boys who will be ogling the adverts on tv or Youtube.

Victoria's Secret

Victoria's Secret

[Shakes fist at La Senza and Victoria’s Secret}

I guess, I’m just tired of brands that are supposed to create a product for women, being so openly condescending to their bread and butter and all of us just laughing and giggling and shrugging our shoulders.

Then again, maybe I just need to get a decent night’s sleep and stop bitching. It is a fairly amusing commercial and they certainly pack a whole lot of stereotypes into that minute and a half. It was produced quite awhile ago and it’s still a fairly trendy choice, so who am I argue?

I dunno. What do you think of it all? No really… am I just being overly sensitive and stupid? Tell me, I would love to hear your thoughts.

Cheers,

Maggie

