Shapewear

Shapewear

Hola Swimwear and Lingerie fans.

Happy Monday!

So, Summer is well and truly here and with it the hot weather. My office has a dress code in effect that prevents me from looking like a complete slob.

Sad, I know.

Which basically means I can’t wear shorts or capris or other hot weather wear. This wouldn’t be such an issue, if I had a car with air conditioning. Yup, I commute without air conditioning… crazy right?

I get to work and my hair has achieved the kind of volume that we curly-haired folk like to describe as Chia-Pet-Chic, or simply “Bride of Frankenstein” for you regular folks. It also means that I need to dress as lightly as possible, so I have been rocking the summer dresses in a big way.

Chia Pet Chic

Chia Pet Chic

Say, have I ever mentioned that while I have fabulous legs, they are sadly, ever-so-slightly, knock-kneed? Yup, which necessitates some kind of long underwear/biker shorts kind of intervention for my thighs or else I have the almightey chub-rub that leads to rashey thighs and then life really sucks.

{Yes even when I am uber-muscley, the problem is still there, darn anatomy!}

Knock Knees

Knock Knees

Since I need to look all professional (I said look professional… not act professional….) I have been test driving all kinds of shapewear options to find my perfect fit. Lucky for you I plan to review every single one.

The first set I bought, thanks to unanimous recommendation, was from Spanx. I chose the Skinny Britches High-Waisted Short in nude and put it through the paces of an average day at work.

Skinny Britches High-Waisted Short

Skinny Britches High-Waisted Short

Before I tell you how it held up to my usual day (of saving the world one marketing problem at a time), I’ll give a brief run down of what these shorts are supposed to offer and why I choose to start with them.

I have experienced a bit of a muffin top issue in the past when the shapewear shorts I was wearing were of a “super” control level and literally squeezed every ounce of padding I had up and over the waistline… not a pleasing look I can assure you. I decided that a “High-Waisted” short might prevent that sort of effect and avoid a visible “waist-line”.

Skinny BritchesHigh-WaistedShort-

Skinny BritchesHigh-WaistedShort-

From the Website: “SPANX Skinny Britches offer sheer shaping power in stunning shades and classic silhouettes! Layer for customized color and compression.”
1. Ultra-light sheer fabric firms from just below the bra through the tummy, hips, thighs and rear
2. Cool, lightweight fabric
3. Non-binding waistband and fabric lay flat
4. Laser-cut leg and edges eliminate pinching, binding and bulging
5. Cotton gusset for comfort
6. LOVE that: wear with Skinny Britches Hipster for extra compression

Content: 60% Polyamide/ 40% Lycra

I totally forgot about my poor little stunted torso… I can actually pull these puppies up and over my boobs into a quasi-mock-turtleneck. Complaint number one… perhaps we could all agree that not everyone’s upper half is pleasingly long and make different lengths for the vertical rise or at least make it so that the top doesn’t roll down like a banana peel over the course of the day.

{and no they aren’t the maternity style… I checked properly this time!}

The thigh length was okay since I can’t wear mini skirts anyway. The bottoms didn’t roll up as much as the top rolled down so I have to say that was a nice plus.

The cotton gusset to help you avoid having to roll down the shapewear for every…ahem… visit to the ladies room was a wash out (and most likely the reason the top kept rolling down). I’m sorry I just can get behind the whole open the gusset thing to take a leak… it’s like daring some one to pee into the wind… the possibility for disaster is just too great. A nice idea and I would love to hear if any of you can do it… but sadly I do not have confidence in my aim or luck.

The fabric is nice and definitely very stretchy and comfy (if a little too snug, according to the size chart I had on the correct size) and I didn’t feel as though I had on too many layers. So that would be a positive there.

spanx-size-chart

spanx-size-chart

Although the box stated that the control level (Slimming Level)was “Medium” there was still quite a compression sensation. Particularly when I finally took the shorts off at the end of the day. Since I wasn’t interested in the reducing aspect as much, this was actually a negative in my book. I just wanted a pair of pants that would give minimal smoothing and be comfortable and enable me to walk and run without looking like I had my knees glued together. For those of you looking for control… I can see the appeal!

I do realize that Spanx is all about the slimming control top, but it would be nice to have the option to go lower than a “medium” amount of control.

On the whole I just wasn’t that blown away by the Spanx. Which isn’t really fair considering I was asking it to do something it wasn’t developed to do.

My Bad.

I’ll definitely give it a shot again but in the waist high style. Nevertheless, I can’t say that it does anything better than any of the other bodyshapers out there on the market. I feel a little strange saying this, after all, I have yet to encounter anyone with anything less that worshipful praise for the brand.

and thats my two cents on Spanx Skinny Britches High-Waisted Shorts.

See ya tomorrow!

Cheers,

Maggie

Skinny Britches Short- Spanx

Skinny Britches Short- Spanx

