Hello Swimwear and Lingerie Friends!

I had the most wonderfully restful holiday yesterday. I love the May 2-4, otherwise known as Victoria Day here in Canada. Basically, every one pretends they are a kid and that it’s the middle of summer; backyard parties, swimming in pools that have just been filled with icy cold water, fireworks, BBQ, beer and a sense of community that makes the rest of the short week feel like a tiny penance until the next weekend.

It was well over 20 C and I was debating hauling out our sprinkler and playing with the pooch in the sunshine… until I realized that my swimsuits were all pretty decrepit. Hmmm, what to do? Well, I certainly didn’t want to traumatize the neighbours with my threadbare, some what see-through old suits so I gave up on the water fun and decided to just hang out and play frisbee.

{insert sad, pouty face, shakes fist at over-chlorinated pools that eat my fav suits!}

Later on though, I figured I’d take a preliminary scour of some suits that could be possible contenders in what will soon come to be called the “Great Online Swimsuit Search.”

Unfortunately, there appear to be quite a few neon colours taking up rack space this season…. I’m not a fan of the day-glo look. I got that out of my system in the 80’s, with a lovely pineapple, stepped hair-cut to match. {shudder}

Hmmm, what to do, what to do. Well, the answer is obvious.

Go to my happy place!

And poof….. 2000 words later and a whole bunch of Sport’s Illustrated Swimsuit photos, we finally get to Totally Vintage Tuesday!

Pinup Girl Clothing!!!!!

Ahhhhh, how awesome are these designs? So amazing!!!!

So, obviously, I love every single one right? How to narrow down the choices to save my poor credit rating? First off, I really want one bikini and one swimsuit, buuuuuuutttt, there may just be room for a second one-piece suit!

Here are the three I’ve narrowed it down to;

This red Retro Halter Swimsuit

“Inspired by our love of Vargas and Petty Pinups, the Bettie Swimsuit is the ultimate pinup girl bathing suit! Featuring a sexy, skirted bottom, a gathered bodice, and contrast halter straps.

Features Include:
Fully lined inside front to define your curves
Top is lined (no cups), and has a builtin shelf bra to lift that cleavage
Adjustable tie halter straps accommodate all bust sizes.”

The halter style looks supportive, I kinda squealed when I saw the polka-dots and no one is going to go into seizures from the colour!

Next up we have the The Marilyn 1pc Retro Swimsuit by Pinup Couture – in black.

“the Marilyn Swimsuit – a gorgeous, gathered, skirted thing of beauty that evokes old Hollywood glamour – and is designed to hold you in, and push you up, for an extremely sexy beach silhouette. The Marilyn One Piece Swimsuit was the runaway favorite with our models at the shoot, and we know it’ll become your favorite swimsuit as well! Features Include: Fully lined inside with power mesh to define your curves. Top is padded with cups that help support. Gathered design hides any imperfections. Adjustable elastic shoulder straps for comfort and two removable rhinestone brooches.”

and last but not least, the two piece; Sailor Girl Nautical Bikini

“This adorable red and white striped sailor inspired bikini top is fully lined with removable padding, hook closure on halter neck tie, and navy sailor tie.These high waisted shorts have a shiny navy blue sheen and six white with red anchor buttons up front. Fully lined.”

Well? What do you think? Would you have chosen differently? Tell me which Pinup Couture suits grab your attention. I would love to know.

Cheers,

Maggie

