Yippee… It’s Thursday, it’s Thursday, and that means it’s almost Friday, Wahooooooo!

Hello Swimwear and Lingerie Fans, it’s “Fitting Tip Thursday” and I have a wonderful quickie for you today!

Today’s fitting tip is “How Not To Totally Pooch Your Lingerie” otherwise known as “If you going to spend the time and money to find and buy great fitting, good looking lingerie why would you just throw it in the washer and dryer?”

Seriously folks, it’s a valid question.

I get the whole ‘time is money’ and you can’t be bothered to handwash and air dry your undies, but I wonder if you realize just how much wear and tear the laundering process puts those delicates through?

If you consider that most people these days don’t really separate their laundry into the different wash cycles and worse then that still use the agitator in the washer and tumble dryer for their underwire bras, it’s no wonder you need to go lingerie shopping so often!

You can use the specialty lingerie/delicates detergents like Hanky Panky’s, Forever New, Ivory Snow or Eucalan, but they can’t really do much to help if you’re still putting them through a mugging in your machines!

So, if you don’t believe me you can ask Hanky Pankyhere, Now Thats Lingerie here or the lovely folks at The Knickers Blog here and find out all about how and why you should hand wash your delicates.

Now while you ponder all of that, it is true confessions time;

… Hello, my name is Maggie, and I am a recovering machine washing lingerie person.

It has been two weeks since I last used the washing machine to clean my bras and underwear. Thank you, thank you.

I’m taking it one day at a time and really just trying to remember all the reasons I had for giving up the convenience of the washing machine.

It hasn’t been easy and I have had my moments of rationalizing my lingerie/pjs as machine washable but I’m still holding strong.

I had to hit the bottom before I stopped… I really scared myself last time, so I try to hold on to that.

You see, I thought I could wash my bras in the machine as long as I hung them to dry… I really believed that it would be okay, until it happened.

{sob Forgive me Freya}

My favourite Freya somehow snagged on lint catcher and twirled the fabric around and around and around, until the underwire just burst out and jammed in the bottom of tub…. IT WAS MY FAVOURITE BRA!

True story that. I didn’t mean to get so personal but it was very cathartic.

So as you can see, laundry is no laughing matter.

{Not any more}

Now adays, When I am getting ready for bed and washing my face, I let the sink fill a bit and soak my bra and undies. Then I add a little gentle wash soap and give them a thorough cleaning without tugging, twisting or wringing and rinse them thoroughly and let them hang dry over a towel. Done.

No muss, no fuss. Easy as pie.

You should try it!

Cheers,

Maggie

