Hello Swimwear and Lingerie Readers. {waves}

I happened to be tooling around on the net and came across Emporio Armani Underwear’s latest advertising video featuring the always stunning Megan Fox.

It’s a visual masterpiece, shot in black and white with an ambient electronica soundtrack that enhances the pared down feel of the film.

Movements are made in slow motion and alternately sped up to keep the viewer off guard and sheer black fabric creates that luxuriously decadent feel that we all associate with lingerie. Plus it flashes me back to the whole Calvin Klein “Eternity” fragrance ads of the 90’s. Yes, I am that old.

Megan Fox is basically undressed for the majority of the film and is somehow far more compelling in the art-house thematic style of movie. Her face isn’t made up like a screen siren and her tattoos are all completely visible allowing a feeling of intimacy and voyeurism. I love that her tattoos aren’t hidden and that they are part of the landscape of her body.

But don’t take my word for it, see for yourself.

Now, it has always made me giggle that marketing campaigns tend to feature the “face” or person they have hired as their icon for the product rather than the actual product (the clothing).

We see a lot of Megan and a lot of Megan wearing lingerie, but we only get two actual shots of her in jeans. The bras that she is shown wearing don’t seem to be offered on the Emporio Armani website as part of the Armani Jeans Spring/Summer 2011 Collection.

Which is a shame because I really like the lingerie she is wearing and would like to be able to see it in detail and discuss it…. but I can’t.

Kinda strange isn’t it? But hey, these huge marketing campaigns aren’t based on a dare. I’m sure they know exactly what they are doing and that the word of mouth and the way this video is going to go viral is like marketing gold. Power to them for knowing us so well too.

C’mon admit it, you’re going to share this with your friends and tell them about it right? I know I just did.

Cheers,

Maggie

